Jingle Ball 2016

This year I got the pleasure of attending 102.7 KIIS FM’s Jingle Ball at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. So here’s some inside scoop! 

Because of my job I have a very different experience of going to events like Jingle Ball. I had to get there early and interview celebs on the red carpet before going in to the concert.

 nrm_1406916580-emily-the-devil-wears-prada-204973_1400_929

While I missed the first few performances, of which I would have loved to see Bruno Mars and Daya blow up the stage, my unique experience was one for the books. I was able to see a small snippet of how things work at big, glorified concerts like this. While I won’t say much, I’ll just say that being underground at the Staples Center is something I’ll never forget. It’s crazy! There is so much going on down there that we don’t think about while on the next level up having the time of our lives. Promotional work, interviews, hectic running around in the search for “that guy”, camera crews, band mates – it’s all down there. I was amazed to see how seamless things were while watching the show, simply possible becuase of the chaos happening down below. It really does take a fleet to get one man on stage.

From talking to Jiff the Dog to gleaming at Justin Bieber on stage, my night was remarkable. The lineup was Bruno Mars, Daya, Niall Horan, Lukas Graham, Alessia Cara, Meghan Trainor, Fifth Harmony, Diplo, Britney Spears, and Justin Bieber.

While I saw videos of Bruno Mars, I was very sad to miss his set. He danced like Michael Jackson and sang like Prince. His new album, 24k Magic, dropped just in time for Jingle Ball because the crowd sang and danced right along with him to his top-charting songs, (so I heard from down under). 

In other news, 18 year old Daya performed my Spring Break jam, Don’t Let Me Down, Niall Horan was adorable as he sang This Town all alone up on the stage, and Alessia Cara hit me right in the heart with her lyrics to Here. We celebrated Britney Spears’ 35th birthday with cake and a birthday song, and then… boom.

tumblr_mg7ov6scxf1rkv5ywo1_500

A performance that I didn’t expect to love was Justin Bieber. But I’ll be honest… I caught Bieber-fever. 2010 flashback, I’m a belieber. I knew he had a good voice, but he sang and danced better than I thought he could. (Definitely needed some cold water after he performed Cold Water acoustically.) Sick and not feeling too well, JB lit up the stage – figuratively and literally with vibrant light explosions. He did quite a few acoustic renditions, including a cover of Tracy Chapman’s Fast Car, which made for a nice balance between those and louder sets like What Do You Mean, Let Me Love You, and Sorry. I’d being lying if I said that I haven’t watched my recordings of him since. Needless to say, I never expected to be a fan, but the Biebs caught me on this one. [End fangirl moment.]

All in all, Jingle Ball definitely made the top of the list for my 2016 concert history. If you didn’t get a chance to this year, I recommend an appearance next year!

P.S. I’m just going to leave this here. //widgets.ellentube.com/videos/0-m52qk33p/

tumblr_inline_o538npeqib1toi6wn_500

Leave a Reply

