Hawaiian Christmas

A few weeks ago my roommate woke me up at 5 AM to say goodbye to me. She was leaving for the airport and, while I still had 3 finals to take, she was on her way home for the holidays. So rewind, 5 o’clock in the morning, and what do I hear?

“Mele Kalikimaka is the thing to say on a bright Hawaiian Christmas Day…” 

She was standing there, bags packed, playing her favorite Christmas song, an ode to my homeland. I laughed awake and after dancing for a few, said goodbye. A week later, after being in Los Angeles to take finals and work, I flew home with a heart aching for a Hawaiian Christmas.

Your assumptions are correct. Hawaii in December is beautiful. Sunny, green, bright – ideal conditions. Beach days are endless, iced teas and smoothies are constants, and runs along the beach happen daily. We call it ‘beach with a sweater’ weather – sweater optional. And while I would love a white, snowy Christmas, I love to call this beautiful place “home”We get occasional rain, although it’s warm and only makes the palm trees greener. And the “hurricane” that’s always coming our way only means warmer water. So basically, no bad days, Maui.

What this also means? My Christmas was amazing.

My day looked a little something like this: Dad and I woke up bright and early and drove to my aunt and uncle’s home down the street. We had our traditional breakfast with family and friends out at the picnic tables where we played games and stuffed our faces. Then, I soon got anxious for everyone to open presents, so the friends went home and family went inside. We opened gifts, watched Elf, ate more food, and went to the movies. And then Dad and I came home.

My day was simple, but it was perfect. The weather was a comfortable 80, the birds were singing, and my dad loved his Christmas gift… It was a perfect day.

“Mele Kalikimaka is the thing to say on a bright Hawaiian Christmas day
That’s the island greeting that we send to you from the land where palm trees sway 
Here we know that Christmas will be green and bright 
The sun to shine by day and all the stars at night 
Mele Kalikimaka is Hawaii’s way to say Merry Christmas to you”

200_s

Leave a Reply

